Yaksha Yana 2018-19

Yakshagana is called the Gandukale of Dashina Karnataka and a very famous in Karavali region. Owing to the Popularity , for the First time in the history of Govinda Dasa College an Inter- Collegiate Yakshagana (Thenkuthitu) Competition ‘YAKSHA YANA -2019’ was organized by Govinda Dasa College in association with Parents’ Teachers’ Association, GovindaDasa College on 5.1.2019 & 6.1.2019 at Rangamandira ,GovindaDasa College, Surathkal.

The Inauguration function was held on 5.1.2019 where,Sri E Janardhan, President, H V Sanga® ,Surathkal was the President of the Programme; Shri. Kamaladevi Prasad Asranna , Shree Kshetra Kateel was the Inaugurator ; Ashirwachana was rendered by I.Ramananda Bhat, Hereditary Trustee, Iddya Mahalingeshwara Temple. Dr. B.Muralidhar Rao, Principal, GDC welcomed the gathering & Shri. P. Madhusudhan Rao, Director-Administrator, Govinda Dasa College, Surathkal was also a part of this programme.

In total, there were 7 colleges who had participated this competition. They are: Shree Durgaparameshwari Devala first grade college, Kateel (Narakasura Moksha); Shriram First Grade College, Kalladka (Abhimanyu Kaalaga); Alva’s College ,Moodabidri (Panchajanya); Sri Dharmastala Manjunatheshwara College, Ujire (Sudharshana Vijaya); Sri Dharmastala Manjunatheshwara Law College, Mangalore (Panchajanya-Gurudakshine);  S.V.S College, Bantwala  (Sudharshana Vijaya);Vivekananda College, Puttur (Narakaasura Moksha).

Alva’s College, Moodabidri Bagged the Overall Winners trophy  , Sri Dharmastala Manjunatheshwara College, Ujire were the Overall Runners & Shree Durgaparameshwari Devala first grade college, Kateel Bagged the Overall third place.

The Closing Ceremony was held on 6th February 2019 .Shri M. Venkat Rao, Secretary ,H.V.Sanga® rendered the Presidential remarks . Shri Bhujabali Dharmastala, Shri K C Nagendra Bharadwaj , Shri.Santhosh.Shetty, Shri.Sudhakar Poonja, were the Chief Guests. Smt. Poornima Yatish Rai, Yakshagana Trainer, Govinda Dasa College was felicitated for her dedictaed support.  Prof.Ramesh Bhat proposed the Vote of thanks. This programme was highly appreciated by the audience and suggested to Continue the Journey of Yashayana for years.





Share This Post: