Department of Mathematics

Department of Mathematics was established in the year 1972. When Science course was introduced for P.U.C. section. Sri K. Sripathi Bhat, M.Sc. was in charge of the department. In the year 1973 B.Sc. course was introduced in the college with mathematics as one of the compulsory subject. Sri. B.N. Herala joined the department in the year 1975. Both K. Sripathi Bhat and B.N. Herala were most eminent among lecturers of Mangalore University colleges. Both were very popular among students of our college. in the year 1991 Mr. Vaman Kamath joined the department and at present he is in charge of the department. When Mr. Herala got retirement  Mrs. Nalini joined in the year 1998. After the retirement  of Mr. Sripathi Bhat in the year 2004. Mrs. Linet T. Fernandes joined. At present Mrs. Sajitha Nair working in the department.

Prof. B.N. Herala, MSc. B.Ed., had arranged two unique mathematics Exhibition during Decennial and silver jubilee Celebrations of our college presenting more than 30 items and displayed the value of “pi” to 10000 decimal places, published article in “Aseema”.

In the year 2009 Department of mathematics  conducted UGC -GST sponsored three day National conference on CURRENT TRENDS OF DISCRETE MATHEMATICS IN SCIENCE AND SOCIAL SYSTEMS. during February 26,27,28 – 2009.

In 2013 Prof. Vaman Kamath completed his MPhil Degree from Gandhigram University Dindigul Tamilnadu. He produced a thesis on the topic “spectral graph theory”.

Many of our BSc students participated in Mathematics Exhibition conducted by Science department during Golden jubilee celebrations of our college.

Our final year Bsc students   participated in a week long program  called ‘ganitha poorna” held at Poorna Prajna college Udupi during December month.

The following ex-students of our college after their post graduation in Mathematics joined different colleges as lecturers

1)Mr. Samaga  2) Mr. Vivekananda Bhat  3) Miss suchetha    4)  Miss Meera   4)  Anagha Rao

5)Reshma Rao  6) Shilpa  7)  Deeksha    8)  Pratheeksha   9) Apoorva

The Department consists of the Following Staff:

1 Mr. Vaman Kamath Associate Professor - HOD
2 Mrs. Sajitha.k.nair Assistant Professor